Estadio Ciudad de La Plata, La Plata, Argentina

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Scarlet"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "Fez - Being Born" (Medley) - U2
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "Zooropa" (Medley) - U2

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Stand By Me" (Ben E. King) / "Never Tear Us Apart" (INXS) / "Gracias A La Vida" (Violeta Parra) / "Follow the Yellow Brick Road" (Judy Garland and the Munchkins) / "It's Only Rock and Roll (But I Like It)" (Rolling Stones) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) /

Show Details:

U2 are in the middle of three shows in La Plata, Argentina. The first show was a few days ago, and they’ve had two days off in between. The venue has a roof structure, and the top part of the claw had to be left off the structure, meaning the top mirror ball is missing. Muse is the opening act for the tour.

The afternoon sound check tonight featured “Even Better Than the Real Thing”, “Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of”, “Ultra Violet (Light My Way)” and “New Year’s Day”. All four songs were later played in the show. “Even Better Than the Real Thing” is a new mix of the song, which debuted during the first La Plata show, and opens this second show as well. The band will use it throughout the remainder of the tour. “New Year’s Day”, “Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of” and “Ultra Violet (Light My Way)” all appeared during the Australian leg of the U2360 tour which wrapped up in December 2010, but this is their first appearance in full concerts since that time.

Ahead of “Beautiful Day” Bono invited a girl to join the band on stage. He gave the fan the lyrics to “Gracias a la Vida” and asked her to recite them. The words are a from a song written by Violeta Parra, which has been covered by a number of artists over the years. At the first stop of the tour in South America in Chile, a new remix of “Get On Your Boots” opened the show, featuring lyrics from “Gracias a la Vida” sung by Chilean singer, Francisca Valenzuela, but that introduction has not been used since.

“Mothers of the Disappeared” had appeared at the last couple of shows as part of an instrumental over the opening to “Where the Streets Have No Name”. This is dropped this evening, and “Amazing Grace” is back as the lead into “Streets”.

“Stand By Me” appears at the end of “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, and “Never Tear Us Apart” appears in “Stuck in a Moment”. “Follow the Yellow Brick Road” appears in “City of Blinding Lights”, and “It’s Only Rock and Roll (But I Like It)” makes an appearance in “Vertigo”. “Two Tribes” is part of “I’ll Go Crazy” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone” appears as part of “Walk On”.

American actress Kate Hudson is at the show tonight. She watches the show with her partner Matt Bellamy of Muse. Bono dedicates “Mysterious Ways” to her, and thanks Muse for taking the band out the previous night.

On the first night in La Plata, U2 paid tribute to Argentinian singer Gustavo Cerati, who has been in a coma due to a stroke suffered in 2010. Tonight they include one of his songs with Soda Stereo (“De Musica Ligera”) second to last in the pre-show music which the gathered crowd cheers loudly for.

The show goes on sale on December 10, 2010.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks