Estadio Ciudad de La Plata, La Plata, Argentina

Set List of Show:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Sólo le Pido a Dios"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Bad"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Scarlet"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "Fez - Being Born" (Medley) - U2
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "Zooropa" (Medley) - U2

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Rain" (The Beatles) / "I Don't Want to Join the Army" (Traditional, World War I) / "Funky Town" (Pseudo Echo) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Mothers of the Disappeared" (U2) / "Don't Cry for Me Argentina" (Andrew Lloyd Webber) /

Show Details:

Tonight is the third and final show in La Plata, Argentina. Muse opens tonight as they have for the other shows on this leg of the tour. The venue has a roof structure, and the top part of the claw had to be left off the structure, meaning the top mirror ball is missing.

The band mix it up for the third and final show in La Plata. After entering the last two nights to David Bowie, and going into “Even Better Than the Real Thing” tonight the entrance is “Return of the Stingray Guitar”. It’s a unreleased track, that the band used throughout 2010 for entrances to the stage, it is used tonight for the first time in 2011. Tonight is the last time it is performed on the U2360 tour. It will be reinvented as “Lucifer’s Hands” and will appear as a bonus track on Songs of Innocence.

“Even Better Than the Real Thing” is still part of the set list, but tonight the show kicks off with “Beautiful Day” after “Return of the Stingray Guitar”. “Even Better than the Real Thing” shows up fifth in the show, just before “Mysterious Ways”.

For those who are fans of the No Line on the Horizon album, the show disappoints a bit. “Magnificent” isn’t performed for the first time since the tour started. There are only three songs played from the newest album, “I’ll Go Crazy”, “Get On Your Boots” and “Moment of Surrender”.

The show is a rainy one, with rain throughout the day. It held off for the performances, but in the break between Muse and U2 it rains heavily. “Rain” shows up as a snippet in “Beautiful Day”. Other snippets for the night include “I Don’t Want to Join the Army”, “Two Tribes” and “Funky Town” during “I’ll Go Crazy”. The band also add “Don’t Cry for Me Argentina” into “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me”.

Following “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, León Gieco comes to the stage and performs his song “Sólo Le Pido A Dios” (“I Only Beg God”) with Bono and The Edge. Giego is a well known Argentine folk singer and songwriter, known for mixing folk and rock. The song, released in 1978, is a famous protest song in Argentina, inspired by the military dictatorship, and the exile of Mercedes Sosa.

Bono talks about the similarities between the Irish and Argentine people, “I think the Irish and Argentine – we speak too much. We drink too much. We are religious but we argue with God. And when we’re not arguing with God we argue with the British”

Of the show, Willie Williams shares on his diary via U2.com, “After a week of sunshine, the rain came down overnight and continued off and on throughout the day. It looked like we might get away with it but then, during the changeover between Muse and U2, down it came. The downpour was brief, but absolutely torrential, which wasn’t especially helpful, but we did manage to get through the show without a breakdown.”

As a special for U2.com subscribers, the full version of “Bad” is made available on the band’s website for a limited time.

On the first night in La Plata, U2 paid tribute to Argentinian singer Gustavo Cerati, who has been in a coma due to a stroke suffered in 2010. Tonight they include one of his songs with Soda Stereo (“De Musica Ligera”) second to last in the pre-show music which the gathered crowd cheers loudly for.

The show goes on sale on January 19, 2011..

Related News

Officially Released Tracks