Azteca Stadium, Mexico City, Mexico

Set List of Show:

Set List:

  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "All I Want is You"
  • "Love Rescue Me"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Scarlet"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Worried Blues" (Bob Dylan) / "Blackbird" (The Beatles) / "Teenage Kicks" (The Undertones) / "Discothèque" (U2) / "Please" (U2) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Play Me" (Neil Diamond) / "High and Dry" (Radiohead) /

Show Details:

This show is the third and final show at Azteca Stadium in Mexico City on the final leg of the U2360 tour. The show is opened by Snow Patrol this evening. There’s a celebratory atmosphere at the show. Larry takes the stage in a “Sexico” shirt which gets a roar of approval from the crowd when it is spotted.

Ahead of “Space Oddity” is “Vamonos de Fiesta Esta Noche”. The song, recorded by Banda El Recodo, is a well known Mexican song, and gets the crowd pumped up before Bowie’s song starts.

“New Year’s Day” follows “Even Better Than the Real Thing”. The song has been played extensively on this tour, but has been missing for most of the South American leg of the tour, and makes its return tonight. The band also work in some newer additions in the middle of the show. “All I Want is You” replaces “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” tonight. It is followed by “Love Rescue Me”.

Band introductions this evening include “macho man” Larry Mullen, the “ladies man” Adam Clayton. The Edge is introduced as the band’s resident genius, and Bono describes himself as a “jack of all trades.”

Bono pulls a young woman on stage to read a poem ahead of “Beautiful Day” as he has done on the earlier nights in Mexico. The poem, “Con Flores Escribes” is by Mexican poet, scholar and philosopher, Nezahualcóyotl. Another female fan manages to climb on stage during “Vertigo”. Security are quick to remove her before she reaches the band. “Zooropa” includes a pre-recorded intro piece of music which incorporates “Fez – Being Born”.

Snippets include “Worried Blues” as part of “All I Want is You”, “Blackbird” during “Beautiful Day”, “Teenage Kicks” during “Vertigo”. During “I’ll Go Crazy” both “Discotheque” and “Please” make an appearance. “Walk On” has the usual “You’ll Never Walk Alone” snippet. “Play Me” and “High and Dry” are part of “Where the Streets Have No Name”.

In his tour diary for U2.Com, Willie Williams shares, “Everybody was aware, band, crew and audience alike, that something remarkable was happening here, especially on Saturday night, which was the first show that went on sale. It’s too hard to describe these things in words without falling into clichés, but suffice it so say that I was very glad to witness these shows. From the raging opening of Real Thing to the dazzling cell-phone star field of Moment of Surrender this was as close to a perfect ten as I think I’m likely to live to see.”

Early in the day U2 did a short sound check, testing out “New Year’s Day”, “Zooropa” and “City of Blinding Lights”.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks