Rice Eccles Stadium, Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Set List of Show:

Set List:

  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "All I Want is You"
  • "Happy Birthday"
  • "Stay (Faraway, So Close!)"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Scarlet"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Love Rescue Me" (U2) / "Here Comes the Sun" (The Beatles) / "Discothèque" (U2) / "Mofo" (U2) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Blowin' In The Wind" (Bob Dylan) / "The Times They Are A-Changin'" (Bob Dylan) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

The second show in the USA takes the band to Salt Lake City. The Fray opens the show again tonight. The audience is described as “deafening” to the show this evening.

Snippets included during this show include “Anthem” during “Until the End of the World”, “Here Comes the Sun” and “Here Comes Summer” during “Beautiful Day”, “Discotheque” and “Mofo” during “I’ll Go Crazy” and the usual “You’ll Never Walk Alone” during “Walk On”.

It’s Bob Dylan’s birthday and Bono includes “Where the Streets Have No Name” includes snippets of “Blowin’ in the Wind”, “The Times They Are A-Changin’” and “All You Need is Love”. Bono also includes a bit of “Love Rescue Me” at the end of “All I Want is You”. Bono also gets the crowd to sing Dylan a happy birthday tonight. “Love Rescue Me” is the song that Dylan co-wrote on Rattle and Hum. Dylan is turning 70 tonight.

The set list for tonight is the same as Denver.

Bono jokes about his injuries after “Until the End of the World”, “Let me tell you that we are so much better this year… I’ve been rebuilt by better design… vorsprung durch technique…What do you make of Robo-Bono?” He also takes the opportunity to announce that “Adam Clayton has become a father for the first time and proud of it!”

Bono does call three sisters on to the stage ahead of “Beautiful Day”. Bono knows they’ve been on the road for a while with the band, and asks how many shows they’ve been to before asking them to read a poem about Utah, written by Minnie J. Hardy. Each girl reads a verse, and Bono joins all three of them in reading the final verse, and then kisses one on the cheek and gets a hug, before throwing himself across their laps for the start of “Beautiful Day”.

The poem opens with,

I’m glad to be here where the mountains rise.
Dazzling light ‘neath the clear blue skies.
From crimson dawn till the dear day dies.
Way out west in Utah.”

During “Beautiful Day” Bono changes the line to “You’ve found three friends” – a reference to the three sisters? Or perhaps to U2 themselves tonight?

Before “Moment of Surrender” Bono works a reference in to Bruce Cockburn’s lyrics in “Lovers in a Dangerous Time”, sharing “Everyone has someone they want to think about at the moment. Make the light brighter. No need to kick out the darkness. Hold on to this beautiful world. Hold on tight.” U2 made reference to the song in their own “God Part II” where Bono sings, “Heard a singer on the radio late last night, he says he’s gonna kick the darkness ‘till it bleeds daylight”.

This show in Salt Lake City was originally scheduled to happen on June 3, 2010, and was scheduled to open the tour leg. Originally Lenny Kravitz was announced as a support act for the original date. This was the first date postponed when news of Bono’s back injury was shared, with the entire leg being postponed a few days later. This show was not listed as sold out when the tour was postponed.

Soundcheck in the afternoon today was done by the crew, and U2 were not present. One of the songs they try out though is “The Fly” which is a bit of a surprise.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks