Angel Stadium, Anaheim, CA, USA

Set List of Show:

Set List:

  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "The Fly"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Scarlet"
  • "Walk On"

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Genius of Love" (Tom Tom Club) / "Don't Speak" (No Doubt) / "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight" (U2) / "Anthem" (Leonard Cohen) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) / "She Loves You" (The Beatles) / "Space Oddity" (David Bowie) / "Follow the Yellow Brick Road" (Judy Garland and the Munchkins) / "It's Only Rock and Roll (But I Like It)" (Rolling Stones) / "Miss You" (Rolling Stones) / "Funky Town" (Pseudo Echo) / "Discothèque" (U2) / "Please" (U2) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Jungleland" (Bruce Springsteen) /

Show Details:

U2 have been playing a string of six cities where they have only played a single show in each city. They have been using the same set list throughout without many changes. Tonight in Anaheim, they are playing a second show in the city, and the band does mix it up.

First of all they debut “The Fly” in the live set for the first time on this tour. The last time it appeared in a live concert was at the end of the Vertigo tour, on December 9, 2006 in Honolulu.

“The Fly” is part of a mini-Zoo TV segment that opens the show. The show starts with “Even Better Than The Real Thing” as the band has been doing lately, then goes into the debut of “The Fly” and is followed by “Mysterious Ways”, “Until the End of the World” and “One” which has been moved up from the usual spot at the end of the show. A sixth song from Achtung Baby appears at the end of the night in the encore, with “Ultra Violet (Light My Way)” returning to the set list. (It has been replaced by “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me” in recent weeks.

After the mini-Zoo TV blast, the band continues the surprises, with “Where the Streets Have No Name” appearing early in the set, moved up from the encore as well.

With the addition of “The Fly”, and other songs moved forward in the set list, “I Will Follow” and “Get On Your Boots” now appear more towards the middle of the show. These are followed by “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” and “Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of” both returning to the show after some weeks without. “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” is dedicated to Quincey Jones who is at the show.

“Magnificent” which has been appearing as a remixed version of the song of late is dropped for the evening. The band has been working on the song at every chance but seem to still be having a bit of a struggle with it. It will return a couple of times in the weeks to come, but stops being a nightly fixture with this show.

Introductions of the band see Bono talking about Adam Clayton being a new, and proud father. Larry is introduced as a movie star and speaks about his role in Man On A Train. And the Edge? He “became a farmer, just yesterday. He had a slightly different plan. He was going to build a nuclear reactor, but farming is good, he’s back to wind farming…on guitars and everything else, The Edge!” Bono also gives a shout out to Edge’s wife Morleigh, as they celebrate their wedding anniversary today.

“Moment of Surrender” is done for Clarence Clemons tonight, whose death was announced earlier in the day. Bono asks the audience to think during the song, “Think about one man’s saxophone, think about Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, think of Clarence Clemons. This man just carried music, and music carried him until this day.” Bono includes “Jungleland” at the end of the song, the song featured on Springsteen’s 1975 album Born to Run and is known as the song which contains one of Clemons’ most well known solos.

Other snippets throughout the night include “Genius of Love”, “Don’t Speak”, and “I’ll Go Crazy if I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight” during “Mysterious Ways”. “Anthem” appears during “Until the End of the World”. “Where the Streets Have No Name” opens with “Amazing Grace”, and includes “All You Need is Love” and also includes a bit of “Anthem”. “Get On Your Boots” includes “She Loves You”. “Space Oddity” makes an appearance in “Beautiful Day” which includes the intro video from the International Space Station where “Space Oddity” is also quoted. “Vertigo” includes “Follow the Yellow Brick Road” and “It’s Only Rock and Roll (But I like It)”. “I’ll Go Crazy” includes “Miss You”, “Funky Town”, “Discotheque” and “Please”. “You’ll Never Walk Alone” appears at the end of “Walk On”.

Other guest at the show are producer Rick Rubin, Tom Morello and Cindy Crawford.

In his tour diary for U2.com, Willie Williams shares, “After opening with five songs from Achtung Baby and segueing into Streets, the show did eventually make it’s way back to known territory for Zooropa and all the big screen moves that follow. The first half hour or so was deliciously disorientating for us regulars, as I had absolutely no sense of where we were in the show and of course when we got to the encores, it turns out we’d already played them. I had a fan-Twitter feed going at front of house so we could enjoy watching the fans take on the evening; great excitement and many funny comments. The feeling of dials spinning could not be more perfect for this point of the tour where I’m so messed up anyway. Never mind ‘What time is it in the world?’ I was even struggling to answer the question ‘What time is it in the show?’”

This show was originally scheduled for June 7, 2010, with Lenny Kravitz as an opening act. The show was initially announced on November 9, 2009 when the first show in Anaheim went on sale and quickly sold out, with a presale for U2.com starting the next day. Tickets for these 2010 shows were still valid for the rescheduled dates in 2011.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks