SAP Center, San Jose, CA, USA

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Desire"
  • "Sweetest Thing"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Bad"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "One"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Beat on the Brat" (U2 Remix) - The Ramones
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Spiritual High Part II" - Moodswings ft. Chrissie Hynde
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Wanderer" - U2 with Johnny Cash

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) / "I Can See for Miles" (The Who) / "Wonderwall" (Oasis) / "Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?" (The Ramones) / "God Save the Queen" (Sex Pistols) / "It's the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)" (R.E.M.) / "Young Americans" (David Bowie) / "1969" (The Stooges) / "Love Me Do" (The Beatles) / "America" (Stephen Sondheim from West Side Story) / "19" (Paul Hardcastle) / "The Hands that Built America" (U2) / "Into the Mystic" (Van Morrison) / "Moment of Surrender" (U2) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) /

Show Details:

A second night in San Jose sees U2 mix things up in a similar fashion to what they did for the second show in Vancouver. And tonight like last night, they strayed from the printed set list as the show progressed. “The Troubles” was rehearsed in the afternoon at soundcheck, and appears on the set list tonight after “With or Without You” but was dropped. But in a suprise, “Bad” which isn’t on the set list tonight, made an appearance ahead of “With or Without You”. Bono introduced it as a “song that’s not on the schedule”.

Tonight is also the tour debut of “The Electric Co.” played for the first time since the Vertigo tour. The band also continued to use the animated video of an aging Johnny Cash singing “The Wanderer” for the intermission tonight after first introducing it the night before.

Snippets of songs making an appearance tonight include “Send in the Clowns” and “Wonderwall” during “The Electric Co.” “Do You Remember Rock ‘n’ Roll Radio?” and “God Save the Queen” appear in “Vertigo”. R.E.M.‘s “It’s the End of the World” appears during “Until the End of the World”. In the second act “Young Americans” gets used in “Mysterious Ways” and “Desire” references “1969” and “Love Me Do”. “Bullet the Blue Sky” includes “America” and “19” and “The Hands That Built America” follow “Bullet”. “Bad” has snippets of “Into the Mystic” and U2’s “Moement of Surrender”. In the encore, U2 include “Mother and Child Reunion” ahead of “Streets” and “California (There is No End to Love)” during “Streets.”

Tonight the band pull a fan on stage to film “Sweetest Thing” which is shown on screens, and broadcast to homes via Meerkat. The song is dedicated to Apple’s Jon Ive. Another moment of celebration is the inclusion of “I Can See for Miles” in “The Electric Co.” and a later snippet of “Happy Birthday” for Pete Townshend who is at the show and is celebrating his 70th birthday today. Bono also mentions that tonight would have been Joey Ramone’s 64th birthday today, and dedicates the opening song to him. “Iris” is dedicated to Sheryl Sandberg, Chief Operating Officer of Facebook, and “One” is dedicated to her late husband Dave Goldberg who died earlier in the month.

Others spotted at the show include Bill Gates of Microsoft, and Noel Gallagher from Oasis. Speaking to U2.Com, Gallagher shared, “It was theatre. It starts off as a punk rock gig but then it gets intimate, there’s a lot of truth in it about where they come from and the people that they are.”

Ahead of the show all four members of the band came out to greet fans outside of the show, signing autographs and meeting with fans. During the meet and greet, Bono spoke to a young boy, and told him that he would take him on stage if he could find him. The boy was seen on stage later in the night during “City of Blinding Lights”.

The tour was announced on December 3, 2014, with tickets going on sale on Monday December 8. Presales for U2.com members started on December 4, 2014 with subscribers who joined prior to September 9 being part of the Experience group, and new subscribers, who joined after September 9 being part of the Innocence group. Both San Jose shows were announced from the start, and both went on sale at the same time. Ticket prices ranged from $31.50 – 278.00. Doors were advertised to open at 6:30pm.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks