The Forum, Inglewood, CA, USA

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "California (There is no End to Love)"
  • "Sweetest Thing"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "One"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Wanderer" - U2 with Johnny Cash

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) / "I Can See for Miles" (The Who) / "Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?" (The Ramones) / "Burning Down the House" (Talking Heads) / "Young Americans" (David Bowie) / "God Only Knows" (Beach Boys) / "19" (Paul Hardcastle) / "The Hands that Built America" (U2) / "I Remember You" (The Ramones) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) /

Show Details:

After a series of shows where the band play two back to back shows in a city and then move on, Inglewood is the start of a longer stay in one city. The band are playing five shows at The Forum, and this is the first of those shows.

The band mixes a few things up this evening, with the return of “California (There is No End to Love)” which has not been played since the second show in Vancouver. Tonight it is in the second set, following “Mysterious Ways”. The song is played on the smaller round stage tonight, in Vancouver it had been played on the main stage. There is added work done on the intermission video, but the band is still using the Johnny Cash “Wanderer” video, just with added elements. Ahead of “Sweetest Thing” Bono pulls up the lead singer for the U2 tribute act Hollywood U2, and invites him to film the show. The video is displayed on the screen that splits the venue in half, and is also streamed on the internet via Meerkat. The singer, dressed as Bono, also shares some vocals on the performance.

For snippets tonight the band includes Stephen Sondheim’s “Send in the Clowns”, “I Can See for Miles” by the Who, and “Do You Remember Rock ‘n’ Roll Radio?” by The Ramones as part of “Vertigo. “Burning Down the House” and “Young Americans” appear as part of “Mysterious Ways”, and “God Only Knows” by the Beach Boys is included in “California”. “19” takes its usual place in “Bullet the Blue Sky” which ends as the band do a short version of “The Hands That Built America”. “I Remember You” appears in “Beautiful Day”, and “Mother and Child Reunion” comes ahead of “Streets” which contains a line from “California” which was also played in full earlier in the night.

“Same Love” by Macklemore and Lewis is once again used as the outro song, after being added for the second show in Phoenix. Once again during the show Bono speaks of marriage equality, and his joy that Ireland has voted yes in the referendum in Ireland for marriage equality.

In a review of the show, Randall Roberts shared in the Los Angeles Times, “During the first of the Irish band’s weeklong set of five concerts at the Forum, U2’s musician pillars held and expelled so much energy Tuesday that at times the sold-out area could barely contain itself. It was an environment in which the band’s exuberant performance of ‘Beautiful Day’ midway through felt like a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Spotted in the crowd tonight is Charlize Theron, Colin Farrell, Cindy Crawford, Sean Penn, Kate Hudson, Derrick Hough, and Richard Simmons.

The tour was announced on December 3, 2014, with tickets going on sale on Monday December 8. Presales for U2.com members started on December 4, 2014 with subscribers who joined prior to September 9 being part of the Experience group, and new subscribers, who joined after September 9 being part of the Innocence group. The first four Inglewood shows were announced from the start, and all went on sale at the same time. A fifth show was announced later.

Early in the day U2 sound checked both “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” and “The Ocean”, neither of which have been played on this tour.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks