Bell Centre, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "Out of Control"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Lucifer's Hands"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Bad"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "One"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Wanderer" - U2 with Johnny Cash

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?" (The Ramones) / "God Save the Queen" (Sex Pistols) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "The Hands that Built America" (U2) / "Moment of Surrender" (U2) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) /

Show Details:

Montreal’s Bell Centre is the home to four shows on the tour. This is the second of four shows in the city. If the first night was loud, this one seems even louder to those in attendance, including Bono who calls it the loudest audience of the tour.

The set list tonight includes a few favorites. “Bad” is played again, after having not been performed for six shows. “Angel of Harlem” pops up again after some time away, this time with a fan on stage who plays Edge’s guitar at the end. But the big surprise is the live debut of a new song, “Lucifer’s Hands”. The song was recorded for Songs of Innocence and ended up as a bonus track on the album. It is played for the first time in Montreal. The band will attempt it only two other times on this tour, at upcoming shows in Chicago and New York. “Lucifer’s Hands” isn’t even on the set list for the evening, the printed set list included “Volcano”, itself not a common song on this tour, had it been performed it would have been only the third performance of the song. Bono shared ahead of the song, “We want to do something that we’ve never played before because it is good to do things you haven’t done before. If it goes wrong, blame it on The Edge!” Bono also promises the band have plans to do “The Crystal Ballroom” as well, the other bonus track from the album after spotting a sign asking for it, sharing, “We’ll get to it!”

Like the previous night, Bono brings up Azerbaijan and the issues that Amnesty International is having there. The first ever European Games are taking place starting this week in Baku, but Amnesty International who is calling for the release of prisoners, have been prevented from entering the country. Bono shares, “Blessed are the freedom makers, sing for Amnesty. Six friends of ours locked behind bars for the crime of expressing their opinion. Emin. Khadija. Anar. Leyla. Rasul. Intigam.”

Bono works in “Do You Remember Rock ‘n’ Roll Radio?” (The Ramones) and “God Save the Queen” (Sex Pistols) during “Vertigo” tonight. “Until The End of the World” has a brief reference to “Love and Peace or Else”. “The Hands That Built America” has its usual place as a segue between “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “Pride (In the Name of Love)”. A reference to “Moment of Surrender” arrives during “Beautiful Day” and again in “Bad”. “Mother and Child Reunion” appears as usual in the intro to “Where the Streets Have No Name” which also contains a reference to “California (There is No End to Love)”. “One” includes the “no them, there’s only us” lyrics this evening, which were later used in “Invisible” as well.

Special guests at the show tonight include Régine Chassagne and Win Butler from Arcade Fire. “One” was dedicated to the couple. Actor James McAvoy is also at the show, he’s in town filming a new X-Men film. Guy Laliberté, founder of Cirque du Soleil is also at the show this evening.

The first two nights in Montreal were announced on December 3, going on general sale on December 8, with presales through U2.com starting on December 4. Initially Bono was quoted as saying “We are going to try to have a completely different feeling from night one to night two, and have some fun playing with the idea of innocence and experience. More to be revealed!” but that concept was retired by the time shows arrived. Tickets were tied to the credit card used for purchase, and one scanned their card to enter the venue.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks