United Center, Chicago, IL, USA

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "Out of Control"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Volcano"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Bad"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "One"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Wanderer" - U2 with Johnny Cash

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?" (The Ramones) / "When Johnny Comes Marching Home" (Patrick Gilmore) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Young Americans" (David Bowie) / "Also Sprach Zarathustra" (Richard Strauss) / "The Hands that Built America" (U2) / "Moment of Surrender" (U2) / "Into the Mystic" (Van Morrison) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) /

Show Details:

The Innocence and Experience tour stops for five shows in Chicago’s United Center. This is the second of five shows in the city. Bono who was under the weather for the first show, continues to show signs of illness, and has some struggles with his voice for this show.

The show tonight sees things mixed up a bit, with the return of “Bad”, only it’s sixth appearance this tour. “Angel of Harlem”, “One” and “Out of Control” are back in the show tonight. And “Volcano” makes its fourth appearance on the tour.

Tonight Bono pulls a fan from the audience from Costa Rica during “Mysterious Ways”. She joins the stage, holding her Costa Rican flag up high. During “Mysterious Ways” Bono references “Young Americans” and changes the words to reference the girl on stage “she’s a Central American”. He later calls her “Angel of Costa Rica” (as she stays on the stage during “Angel of Harlem”.)

Tonight much of the buzz is about a song from No Line on the Horizon, “Moment of Surrender” which closed many shows on the previous U2360 tour. Tonight there is an extended version of the lyrics to that song included at the end of “Beautiful Day”, leading into “Bad”. “Moment of Surrender” lyrics are again referenced in “Bad”.

“One”, the final song of the night, is sung for Paul McGuinness, back for his second show in Chicago. The band have friends and family in town for these Chicago shows, including McGuinness, and they are seen throughout the venue. Bono’s voice appears to be a bit shot by the end of the show, and he happily lets the audience take over on vocals.

Ahead of “Every Breaking Wave” as The Edge’s piano starts to rise from the stage, Bono starts humming the melody of “Also Sprach Zarathurstra”, the song that is known as the them of the film 2001: A Space Odyssey. Other songs that popped up during the show include “Do You Remember Rock ‘n’ Roll Radio” during “Vertigo”, “When Johnny Comes Marching Home” during “Sunday Bloody Sunday” and “Love and Peace or Else” during “Until the End of the World”. “Young Americans” appears in “Mysterious Ways”, and “The Hands That Built America” has its usual spot between “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “Pride (In the Name of Love)”. Once again tonight “Moment of Surrender” pops up in both “Beautiful Day” and in “Bad”. “Into the Mystic” also appears in “Bad”. “Where the Streets Have No Name” is introduced by “Mother and Child Reunion” and has a reference to “California (There is No End to Love)”. “One” includes the “There is no them” lyrics that are associated with “Invisible” but originated as a snippet in “One”.

Soundcheck this evening included multiple versions of “The Crystal Ballroom”, “Volcano”, “Bad”, “The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)” and the version of “Beautiful Day” heard tonight complete with “Moment of Surrender” in the song. Although they tried “The Crystal Ballroom” twice it did not appear in the show tonight.

The first two Chicago shows were announced on December 3, 2014, with a pre-sale for U2.com members starting on December 4, 2014, and general ticket sales starting on December 8, 2014.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks