TD Garden, Boston, MA, USA

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "The Crystal Ballroom"
  • "All I Want is You"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"

  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Wanderer" - U2 with Johnny Cash

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) / "I Can See for Miles" (The Who) / "When Johnny Comes Marching Home" (Patrick Gilmore) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Burning Down the House" (Talking Heads) / "Young Americans" (David Bowie) / "Miss You" (Rolling Stones) / "The Message" (Grandmaster Flash) / "The Hands that Built America" (U2) / "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)" (U2) / "I Remember You" (The Ramones) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) / "People Have the Power" (Patti Smith) /

Show Details:

U2 are in Boston for their third of four shows on the Innocence + Experience tour. Bono has been showering the city in praise over the last few nights, and tonight is no different, he takes the time to talk about the 25 shows they have done here in Boston over the years, sharing “Thank you for sticking with us Boston, 25 shows over the years. You’re still here and we appreciate that.”

After the previous nights turn around of the set list, seeing songs shifted throughout the evening, the band again stay with the mixed up set list, seeing “City of Blinding Lights” in the second act instead of the encore. “Pride (In the Name of Love)” is once again used to close the show, and “Every Breaking Wave” leads into “With or Without You” instead of “Bullet the Blue Sky”. The other big surprise was telegraphed during soundcheck when people could hear “The Crystal Ballroom” being practiced. It shows up tonight after “Elevation”, although Larry did start playing it one song earlier by accident. It is only the second time the song has been played so far on tour.

Ahead of “I Will Follow” Bono shares that The Edge had struggled to get into a Boston bar the night before because he didn’t have any ID. Rumours have been rampant that U2 would be doing a secret show in Boston, and asked if there was any truth to the rumours The Edge told Mix 104.1, “There was actually. Myself and Larry were going to do one in a little bar, but unfortunately I couldn’t get in. They wouldn’t let me in.” Larry shared “We were going to be under the name The Drifting Cowboys.” The Drifting Cowboys was an Irish show band that Larry and The Edge had performed in early in their career. It is unknown whether or not there were indeed plans to play a show, but there have been so many rumours that U2.com finally had to issue a note saying that there were no plans for a surprise show. At the show itself Bono shares, “now the funny thing is, that Larry actually got into the bar, they didn’t ask him for I.D., so now he’s really upset, bands break up over this kind of stuff.”

Chloe was brought on stage during “Mysterious Ways” to dance, and later do the Meerkat video during “Elevation”. Gretchen is brought on stage tonight to play “All I Want is You” and Bono speaks about meeting her outside the show earlier in the day, while giving her a few lessons before starting the song.

Johnny Cash’s “The Wanderer” has been used as the intermission video since early in the tour, but after tonight it will take a break.

“Send in the Clowns” (Stephen Sondheim) and “I Can See for Miles” (The Who) are both included in “The Electric Co.” “When Johnny Comes Marching Home” is included in “Sunday Bloody Sunday” and Bono references “Love and Peace or Else” during “Until the End of the World”. “Burning Down the House” and “Young Americans” make appearances in “Mysterious Ways”. Larry Mullen starts “The Crystal Ballroom” early, and switches quickly into “Elevation”. When “The Crystal Ballroom” is played, it includes a long snippet of the Rolling Stones’ “Miss You”. “Bullet the Blue Sky” includes a snippet of “The Message” (Grandmaster Flash) and “The Hands that Built America” has its usual spot in the transition between “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “Pride (In the Name of Love)”. Two songs make brief appearances in “Beautiful Day”, a reference to U2’s “Ultra Violet (Light My Way)” and later “I Remember You”. “Mother and Child Reunion” opens “Where the Streets Have No Name” which also contains “California (There is no End to Love)”. “People Have the Power” (Patti Smith) is added to the end of “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” after the band has left the stage.

Mike Love of the Beach Boys is at the show tonight. Bono remembers from the stage that he used to take their albums to rehearsals.

The third and fourth show in Boston are not part of the original tour announcement but are announced on December 9, after the first two shows sell well. A U2.com pre-sale offer starts on December 10, and the general sale for these shows happens on December 15. All shows use credit card entry, and you enter by scanning the credit card used to purchase the tickets.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks