TD Garden, Boston, MA, USA

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "Gloria"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Volcano"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"

  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "One"
  • "40"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Fly" - Gavin Friday

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Gloria" (Van Morrison) / "When Johnny Comes Marching Home" (Patrick Gilmore) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Sisters Are Doin' It For Themselves" (The Eurythmics) / "19" (Paul Hardcastle) / "The Hands that Built America" (U2) / "Happy Birthday" (Traditional Song) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) /

Show Details:

U2 is wrapping up the fourth of four shows in Boston tonight. He’s been telling the crowds each night how much he has been enjoying the city and tonight is no different, and she says they should have played 14 shows there. After tonight the band is off to play 8 shows in New York, and then will take the tour to Europe.

On the second night in Boston, the band flipped the set list upside down, and they’ve continued to play it that way for the next two shows, including tonight. “With or Without You” and “City of Blinding Lights” move earlier into the show than before, and “Pride (In the Name of Love)” is the final song of the second set.

“Gloria” is a bit of a surprise tonight, although it has been played before, it has only shown up twice to date. “Volcano” also gets dusted off tonight after missing eight shows, and not appearing since Montreal. It is only the fifth time the song is played on tour. “With or Without You” sees Bono including the “Shine like stars” verse, which has been requested by many audience members holding up signs requesting the lyric. “Pride (In the Name of Love)” closes the main set, and includes the “#BostonStrong” hashtag again. Bono speaks about the Boston Marathon bombing, sharing that “no bomb can break you”.

The band introduce a new intermission video tonight, replacing Johnny Cash singing “The Wanderer” which has been used at most shows except the earliest. The screen keeps its yellowish colouration, but now instead of “The Wanderer” we hear Gavin Friday singing “The Fly” over the PA, while phrases flash on the screen reminiscent of phrases and words used during Zoo TV. Fans had heard the music during soundcheck and assumed it was U2 performing, but it appears it was the band working on the transition between this new intermission and “Invisible”.

“Happy Birthday” is sung for Savita a young girl that Bono spots in the audience and later brings up on stage. Earlier in the show, Bono brings Beth to the stage to dance during “Mysterious Ways” and handle the Meerkat video segment for “Volcano”.

Van Morrison’s “Gloria” makes an appearance in U2’s song of the same name. “When Johnny Comes Marching Home” is included in “Sunday Bloody Sunday” and “Love and Peace or Else” is referenced in “Until the End of the World”. “Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves” by The Eurythmics is added to “Mysterious Ways”. “19” appears in “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “The Hands that Built America” fills the gap between “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “Pride (In the Name of Love)”. “Happy Birthday” is sung after “Beautiful Day” and “Mother and Child Reunion” leads into “Where the Streets Have No Name” which contains a reference to U2’s “California (There is no End to Love)”. The “there is no them” lyrics associated with “Invisible” now, also make an appearance in “One” tonight.

Gavin Friday is in attendance at this show, as is Bono’s brother Bob. Annie Lennox of The Eurythmics is also in attendance at this show, leading Bono to the “Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves” addition to “Mysterious Ways”.

During the show Bono shares, “Thanks for the loan of your city for the last 10 days, I guess we have to hand it back to you at some point. It kind of feels like our city too. I hope we didn’t make too much of a mess.” The band are off for New York after the performance tonight.

The third and fourth show in Boston are not part of the original tour announcement but are announced on December 9, after the first two shows sell well. A U2.com pre-sale offer starts on December 10, and the general sale for these shows happens on December 15. All shows use credit card entry, and you enter by scanning the credit card used to purchase the tickets.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks