Pala Alpitour, Turin, Italy

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "Out of Control"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Desire"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "October"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Fly" - Gavin Friday

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?" (The Ramones) / "God Save the Queen" (Sex Pistols) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Singin' In the Rain" (Gene Kelly) / "Into the Mystic" (Van Morrison) / "Torna a Surriento" (Ernesto De Curtis) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) / "People Have the Power" (Patti Smith) /

Show Details:

It’s the second night of U2’s return to Europe with the Innocence + Experience tour. The band play a second night in Europe, and will move on to other countries after this evening. Bono shares that he thinks it is wrong that U2 are only playing two shows in the country this time around. Tonight is a bit of a looser affair than the previous night, the band are having fun and the fans are loud and boisterous throughout the evening.

The set list is similar to the first night, “October” continues in the set list, and “Zooropa” once again segues between “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “Where the Streets Have No Name”. “Out of Control” is in the set list tonight early in the set, and “Desire” and “Angel of Harlem” both pop up later in the show, and the show ends on “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, all new tonight. The end of the main set continues to focus on the European refugee crisis as more stories reach the press about the crisis.

Like the first night, fans from Italy have put together a flash mob. The fan site, U2Place organize fans to turn the arena red throughout when “Where the Streets Have No Name” starts. The fans are holding up red shirts, and smartphones coloured red throughout the venue.

After introducing the band by the streets they grew up in Dublin, Bono calls them “my brothers, miei fratelli” to cheers from the Italian audience. A fan is brought up on stage to dance during “Mysterious Ways” but unlike most nights we’re told that Meerkat isn’t working tonight, and the band won’t be streaming live to the Internet. Bono searches in the crowd asking for musicians, and he finds a few. Two drummers, a couple of guitarists, someone on vocals. They all join in to play “Desire”, and since there’s two fans on stage on drums, Larry takes a little break on the sidelines to watch the chaos unfold.

Bono wishes Van Morrison a happy birthday (his 70th was August 31st) during “Angel of Harlem” and going into “Every Breaking Wave” stops to sing a bit of “Torna A Surriento” for Luciano Pavarotti. It’s the anniversary of Pavarotti’s death, and “Every Breaking Wave” is dedicated to his wife Nicoletta and his daughter Alice. “Beautiful Day” is later dedicated to Pavarotti as well and includes another snippet of “Torna A Surriento”. A special guest arrives on stage for “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”. Italian singer Zucchero joins Bono on vocals during the song. Zucchero is a frequent collaborator of Bono’s, and first worked with Bono on the song “Miserere” which Zucchero had recorded with Pavarotti.

“Do You Remember Rock ‘n’ Roll Radio” and “God Save the Queen” pop up in “Vertigo” tonight. “Until the End of the World” has references to U2’s own “Love and Peace or Else” and “Singin’ in the Rain” tonight. Along with the birthday wishes for Van Morrison, Bono works a bit of “Into the Mystic” into “Angel of Harlem” tonight. “California (There is No End to Love)” gets a brief mention in “Where the Streets Have No Name”. “Mother and Child Reunion” opens the final song, “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” which also includes a piece of “People Have the Power” tonight. Bono also sings the extra lyrics for “With or Without You” that fans call “Shine like Stars”, which he often saves for special nights.

The Innocence + Experience tour was initially announced on December 3, 2014. This show was one of the initial shows announced. Tickets went on general sale on Monday, December 8. A presale for U2.com members started on December 4. (Subscribers who joined prior to September 9, 2014 were part of the Experience group and could go first, subscribers joining after that date were part of the Innocence group.) Both Turin shows were put on sale at the same time.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks