Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "Out of Control"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Two Hearts Beat as One"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "October"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Happy Birthday"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "One"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Fly" - Gavin Friday

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "God Save the Queen" (Sex Pistols) / "When Johnny Comes Marching Home" (Patrick Gilmore) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Burning Down the House" (Talking Heads) / "19" (Paul Hardcastle) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) /

Show Details:

After two crazy shows in Italy to kick off the Innocence + Experience tour of Europe, tonight U2 take the show to Amsterdam. It is the first of four shows in the city. Bono is having a bit of a rough night this evening with fans commenting his voice sounded rough in places throughout the show.

The big surprise tonight is the second performance of “Two Hearts Beat as One” on this tour, and the first appearance in Europe. A fan outside the arena requested the song as U2 entered the venue, and the band made it work. “Out of Control” is back in the set list again tonight for a second night in a row, “Elevation” returns to the set, and tonight it is “One” that ends the show. Bono introduces “Out of Control” by saying “We’re a band from the Northside of Dublin call the U2, formerly the Hype. This is our first single.” During the performance he introduces each band member by the street names they grew up on finishing speaking about The Edge, “Don’t let him fool you, I’ve been hanging out with him, for a while now. Underneath that science-like, zen-like demeanor, the dude is out of control…he’s out of control.”

Opening “Vertigo” Bono jokes, “Any Spanish speakers out there, because clearly there’s none up here…help us out…” And while Bono does the 1, 2, 3 countdown in Spanish, he stops before reaching 14, but the crowd are happy to fill it in.

Ahead of “Iris” Bono speaks with the crowd for a while, “Wow my voice is working, this is great. Well, it’s only when you are away from someone sometimes you realize you miss how much you miss them. We have missed you. Thanks for having us back, in your magic, miracle of a city. We’ve been out, myself and my bandmates. We’ve been out on what can only be described as a floating pub crawl yesterday. I think we were fairly well behaved, although The Edge did borrow money from a passer-by. If you’re here tonight, anyone who had Edge borrow money off them, if that person is out there, could they form an orderly queue…” He spoke about their love for the city, and how The Netherlands showed an early interest in U2, and how “I Will Follow” was all over the radio in this country, before they could get it on their own stations at home.

Bono brings a fan named Christine up from the audience to dance during “Mysterious Ways” but wanders away leaving the fan to dance near The Edge. “You’re incredible! You know what happened there? You were actually too funky for me, so I had to pass you on to The Edge.” Typically the fan is usually given a phone to film the next song, streamed to the Internet via Meerkat, but like the previous show in Turin, the technology seems to be failing the band and no film is made. “I was going to ask you to help us do something, but I think we’re in a bit of a bother, so I’m just going to say thank you for the dance!”

After “City of Blinding Lights” Bono takes a moment to celebrate Willie Williams, the guru behind many of U2’s tours who have been working with the band since the 1980s. “He’s been building all our tours, and working with us for so long”. It is Willie’s birthday and Bono gets the audience to sing happy birthday for him this evening. Another longtime collaborator is mentioned during “Beautiful Day” as Bono stops to shout out to Anton Corbijn, the Dutch photographer who is in the arena tonight.

“God Save the Queen” gets fit into “Vertigo” tonight. “When Johnny Comes Marching Home” makes an appearance during “Sunday Bloody Sunday” and “Love and Peace or Else” gets mentioned in “Until the End of the World”. In the second act, “Burning Down the House” is added to “Mysterious Ways”. “19” pops up during “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “California (There is No End to Love)” is referenced in “Where the Streets Have No Name”. “Beautiful Day” ends with a bit of “I Remember You” and “Mother and Child Reunion” leads the band into “One” to end the show tonight. “One” ends with the “there’s no them, there’s only us” lyrics that have since been reused in “Invisible” but first appeared some time ago in “One”.

The Innocence + Experience tour was initially announced on December 3, 2014. This show was one of the initial shows announced. Tickets went on general sale on Monday, December 8. A presale for U2.com members started on December 4. (Subscribers who joined prior to September 9, 2014 were part of the Experience group and could go first, subscribers joining after that date were part of the Innocence group.) The first two Amsterdam shows were put on sale at the same time.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks