Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Volcano"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "October"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "One"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Fly" - Gavin Friday

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) / "I Can See for Miles" (The Who) / "God Save the Queen" (Sex Pistols) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Words" (Bee Gees) / "Burning Down the House" (Talking Heads) / "19" (Paul Hardcastle) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) /

Show Details:

After three days off, U2 return to the stage in Amsterdam for the third of four shows in that city. On their downtime the band have remained in The Netherlands, working with photographer Anton Corbijn on photos for future projects.

Bono speaks about visiting The Netherlands ahead of “Iris” sharing, “This is just a great, great place to play this venue, it’s fantastic. Great city, great country. We even got out into the country a little bit, got out to the beach day before yesterday, beautiful sunset, it was incredible. Can’t remember the name of the beach. Extraordinary dunes. Incredible dunes. Reminded me a little bit of the Northside of Dublin, as kids we used to holiday in a little railway carriage that my grandfather had. I’ve a film of my mother out there, playing in the dunes. Anyway, we just love it here, it’s very special this week to us, so thank you! If you get to Dublin go to Skerries.” The band were at the beach shooting videos with Anton Corbijn. One of the photos is used for promotion as part of the campaign for the 2017 Joshua Tree tour as well as the album Songs of Experience. Bono dedicates “Iris” to all the mothers in the audience tonight.

A fan is brought onstage to run a camera during “Elevation”, which will stream the performance to the audience at home via Meerkat. The band follow up “Elevation” with the song “Volcano” which has been played sporadically on the first leg of the tour, and is making its European debut tonight. After the song, Bono stops to thank Universal who are based in The Netherlands, “We never really get to thank our record label, because it always sounds so boring when I hear people thanking their record label. You never knew if an artist believed it or just was kissing ass. But we have an incredible team here, even after we gave our album away, they still believed in it, and still went out after it. And it means a lot to us that here in the Netherlands there has been a holding of our music so tightly. So thank you. Thank you for believing in us.” Bono then dedicates “Every Breaking Wave” to Edge’s daughter, who he explains is also his god-daughter. She’s there at the show tonight with her new husband.

Ahead of the final song, Bono speaks to the crowd to thank them, “It’s clear from just looking at the news that there’s a lot of pain and heartache in the world. It’s also clear from this evening, and from this room, that there’s so much love, so much love in this world. If we could bottle, if we could bottle this feeling, there is no problem that would be too difficult to solve. That’s what it feels like to be up here on this stage and to feel whatever it is you are doing. It just makes us feel very empowered. Thank you.” The band close with “One” tonight.

At the end of the night the band come forward to say goodnight, and are given a flag from The Netherlands with “The Dutch ♥ U2” on the flag.

Tonight “Send in the Clowns” and “I Can See for Miles” appear in “The Electric Co.” while “God Save the Queen” makes an appearance in “Vertigo”. The first set ends with “Love and Peace or Else” and “Words” appearing in “Until the End of the World”. During the second set, Bono works “Burning Down the House” into “Mysterious Ways” while “19” is used in “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “California (There Is No End to Love)” is referenced in “Where the Streets Have No Name”. During the encore “One” opens with “Mother and Child Reunion”. Bono also references the “no them only us” lyrics now used in “Invisible” but originally used in “One” live for many years.

Reports from the venue share that “Miracle Drug” and “Magnificent” were performed during soundcheck ahead of the show, but neither made it into the set list tonight. (Thank you U2gigs.com for the soundcheck information.)

The Innocence + Experience tour was initially announced on December 3, 2014. This show was one of the later shows announced, on December 8. Tickets went on general sale on Monday, December 15. A presale for U2.com members started on December 10. (Subscribers who joined prior to September 9, 2014 were part of the Experience group and could go first, subscribers joining after that date were part of the Innocence group.) The final two Amsterdam shows were put on sale at the same time.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks