Globe Arena, Stockholm, Sweden

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Volcano"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "October"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "One"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Fly" - Gavin Friday

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) / "I Can See for Miles" (The Who) / "When Johnny Comes Marching Home" (Patrick Gilmore) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Burning Down the House" (Talking Heads) / "19" (Paul Hardcastle) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) / "I Remember You" (The Ramones) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) /

Show Details:

The tour moves to Stockholm, where U2 will play four shows. Tonight is the first, and it will be the most shows that U2 have played in Sweden on any tour to date. The shows are at the Globe Arena, where U2 previously played on the Zoo TV and Elevation tours. They also played here for the MTV Europe Music Awards in November 2000. That appearance is referenced on Adam Clayton’s T-shirt tonight, a white shirt, with a yellow box, with “Nov.16,2000” written in black.

The show tonight is the same set list as the third Amsterdam show recently. “The Electric Co.” holds the rotational spot at the start, “Elevation” and “Volcano” are played in the second act, and the show ends with “One”.

During the introductions ahead of “Iris” Bono shares, “Clearly we’ve been away from this city for too long. It really is a thrill to be here. It always feels like we’re on our holidays when we come. I can’t explain that, we just have such great times. Edge wants to go fishing in the archipelago or whatever, he wants to go up to the Arctic circle to measure things, don’t you the Edge? The Edge loves measuring things. This is space camp for the Edge. Adam wants to go to, how do you say Library Street? Biblioteksgatan? Something like that? He goes there to buy ladies underwear. Not for himself you understand. For his wife. And indeed for mine. And probably yours. He’s very good at that kind of thing. Larry is here to research because he figures that his blond roots come from the Viking past here. I’m not sure if Larry’s family is Swedish but I am sure he’s a Viking.”

Bono’s enjoying the crowd tonight. Introducing “Elevation” he proclaims “Let us take the roof off here. It’s Friday night. It’s Saturday night. And it’s Sunday night around here!” The fan pulled up during “Mysterious Ways” is Lucy from the Czech Republic, and she stays on the stage to film “Elevation” which is shared with the fans at home via Meerkat after some instruction by Bono. Bono shares that his grandparents used to watch I Love Lucy.

At the end of the first leg, Bono started asking “Is Edge coming out to play?” during “Cedarwood Road”, and then on this leg, he’s occasionally asked if others would be coming out to play. In Turin it was Gavin Friday, in Amsterdam he asked about Caroline, and tonight he asks if Valentina is coming out to play. The call out tonight is possibly for Hot Press writer Valentina Magli, who is in Stockholm to review U2’s shows in Stockholm for the Dublin magazine.

Tonight Bono works in “Send in the Clowns” and “I Can See for Miles” during “The Electric Co.”. “Sunday Bloody Sunday” includes a snippet of “When Johnny Comes Marching Home”. “Love and Peace or Else” appears during “Until the End of the World”. In the second act, “Mysterious Ways” includes “Burning Down the House” and “19” appears during “Bullet the Blue Sky”. U2’s own “California (There is No End to Love)” makes an appearance during “Where the Streets Have No Name”. In the encore Bono finishes “Beautiful Day” with “I Remember You”. “Mother and Child Reunion” is included as the introduction to “One”. “One” also includes the “no them only us” lines which Bono later also used in “Invisible” but has been including as a snippet in “One” for a while now.

Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden and her husband Prince Daniel were in attendance at the show this evening. During “Beautiful Day” Bono acknowledged her, sharing “Princess Victoria right in front of you” during the song.

The Innocence + Experience tour was initially announced on December 3, 2014. This show was one of the initial shows announced. Tickets went on general sale on Monday, December 8. A presale for U2.com members started on December 4. (Subscribers who joined prior to September 9, 2014 were part of the Experience group and could go first, subscribers joining after that date were part of the Innocence group.) The first two Stockholm shows were put on sale at the same time.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks