Globe Arena, Stockholm, Sweden

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "Out of Control"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Desire"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "October"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Fly" - Gavin Friday

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?" (The Ramones) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Words" (Bee Gees) / "Burning Down the House" (Talking Heads) / "Love Me Do" (The Beatles) / "19" (Paul Hardcastle) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) / "People Have the Power" (Patti Smith) /

Show Details:

U2 are in Stockholm to play four shows, and tonight’s show was the planned final show of the four night stand. However, the show on September 20 was cancelled due to a security incident, and is now scheduled for September 22, making this the actual third show in Stockholm. (For more on the security incident, please see the report of September 22, 2015’s show.) Fans entering the show tonight are given a list of items that they cannot bring into the venue which was not done for earlier shows at the venue.

The band use the setlist tonight that had been planned for the aborted show the night before. Tonight’s show sees “Gloria” in the early rotational spot, and “Elevation” and “Sweetest Thing” in the rotation for the second act. Tonight the band end the show with “One”.

Band introductions normally come after “I Will Follow” but tonight Bono addresses the issues of the show planned for the previous night, “Very, very pleased to be here in the city of Stockholm, and actually playing a show. You might have heard we had a security breach last night, and I must say our audience just handled it brilliantly. Really great. Really cool. And the police too. The police were all over the place, that’s not normally a good thing, having the police all over you, but last night it felt like a great thing that the police were here and all over us. We want to send a message to them, thank you for being cautious, thank you for taking care of our audience and the band.”

A local fan, Patrizia joins U2 on stage for “Mysterious Ways” and then takes the camera around stage during “Elevation” which is broadcast to the world. Bono shares that the technology is “to get us closer to us, there is no them.” Bono returns to the idea after “Sweetest Thing”, sharing “When you are younger, when we were anyway, there was a very clear us and them, it was very clear who was friend and who was the enemy, then things changed and we started to realize that the enemy wasn’t so clear anymore at all times. The biggest obstacle in the way of us, was sometimes, often, ourselves. We started to see the hypocrisy of the human heart and what we are all capable of. Love gets complicated and everything. I’m really grateful to have held on to my love.” Later during “One” the words come back again, “No them, there’s only us. No them, there’s only us. No them, there’s only us.” It’s a piece that has been added to “One” in a live setting for many years before the lyric is eventually used in “Invisible”, which is also played tonight.

Ahead of “Mother and Child Reunion” Bono thanks Sweden for their forward thinking, “This country has just got it right on so many important issues. We just have to salute you. And it makes us very proud to be playing at a time in the world like this, and knowing Sweden has lead the fight against extreme poverty, lead at letting refugees into your country at a desperate time of need. We salute that.” He closes with Mandela’s words “it is always impossible, until it is done” and then moves into speaking about HIV / AIDS. He dedicates “Mother and Child Reunion” to musician Dada Life, “because they worked here on this HIV / AIDS piece with (RED)”.

Bono works bits of “Gloria” by both Van Morrison and Patti Smith into their own song of the same name tonight. “When Johnny Comes Marching Home” appears in “Sunday Bloody Sunday” and “Love and Peace or Else” and “Words” appear in “Until the End of the World”. In the second act “Burning Down the House” pops up in “Mysterious Ways”, “19” appears in “Bullet the Blue Sky” and “California (There is No End to Love)” is mentioned in “Where the Streets Have No Name”. “Ultra Violet (Light My Way” appears during “Beautiful Day” and “One” is opened with “Mother and Child Reunion”.

The Innocence + Experience tour was initially announced on December 3, 2014. This show was one of the later shows announced, on December 8. Tickets went on general sale on Monday, December 15. A presale for U2.com members started on December 10. (Subscribers who joined prior to September 9, 2014 were part of the Experience group and could go first, subscribers joining after that date were part of the Innocence group.) The final two Stockholm shows were put on sale at the same time.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks