Globe Arena, Stockholm, Sweden

Set List of Show:

Act One:

  • "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Cedarwood Road"
  • "Song for Someone"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Raised by Wolves"
  • "Until the End of the World"
Act Two:

  • "Invisible"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Desire"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "October"
  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "Zooropa"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "With or Without You"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Bad"
  • "40"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "People Have the Power" - Patti Smith
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Same Love" - Macklemore and Lewis ft. Mary Lambert
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "The Fly" - Gavin Friday

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) / "I Can See for Miles" (The Who) / "Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?" (The Ramones) / "(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love, And Understanding" (Nick Lowe) / "Love and Peace or Else" (U2) / "Words" (Bee Gees) / "Burning Down the House" (Talking Heads) / "Love Me Do" (The Beatles) / "Into the Mystic" (Van Morrison) / "19" (Paul Hardcastle) / "California (There is no End to Love)" (U2) / "Mother and Child Reunion" (Paul Simon) /

Show Details:

U2 are in Stockholm to play four shows. This show, originally planned for September 20, had to be cancelled and rescheduled after a security incident. Thus the show planned as the fourth show became the third, and this night is now the final night.

On Sunday night, as fans were being let into the arena, there was a security breach, and although the venue worked to resolve the issue, in the end it could not be resolved in time for the show to take place. The show is cancelled, and quickly rescheduled for tonight instead. Unfortunately the last minute rescheduling meant that many fans who had other plans booked, could not extend their stay and a number of tickets were refunded. There was a large release of tickets in the afternoon the day of the show.

Swedish media reports claimed that an off-duty police officer had entered the venue with a gun, causing the security alert. Police spokesman Kjell Lindgren did not confirm those reports but shared the concert was called off after someone “wasn’t properly searched” and that “there are reports that it may have been a police officer”. No weapon was found.

The statement through U2.com read: “Due to a security breach, Stockholm’s The Globen evacuated the audience from the building this evening. As the breach has not been resolved quickly and as audience safety is paramount, the police have advised The Globen and Live Nation that they have no option but to postpone tonight’s show, to a rescheduled date of Tuesday 22nd September. All tickets from Sunday 20th September are valid for Tuesday 22nd September. The organizers apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank the audience for their understanding. Their safety is the priority.”

Tonight’s’ rescheduled show goes off without a hitch. Fans entering the show tonight are given a list of items that they cannot bring into the venue which was not done for the first two nights at the venue. After “I Will Follow” Bono stops to address the fans about the issue, thanking them for being cool about the rescheduling and sharing that he had learned a lesson from the fans, and offering an apology to fans who couldn’t return to the show tonight. “Very sorry to the ones who couldn’t make it tonight, but you are here. Thank you for being so cool on Sunday night. You discover who people are in situations like that. We learned that not only are you paying our wages, but you are a very patient boss. We got an extra day in your city, which we love!” Adam is showing his love for Sweden in another way, wearing an ABBA T-shirt, one of the countries biggest exports.

Tonight’s setlist included “The Electric Co.” in the early rotational slot. “Desire” and “Angel of Harlem” are back in the middle of the show, and the band ends the show with “Bad” and “40”. During “Angel of Harlem” a fan, Joachim, is brought on stage to play “Angel of Harlem” with the band.

At the end of the night ahead of “Mother and Child Reunion” Bono once again dedicates the song to Stefan from Dada Life, who has done extensive work with (RED). Bono also shared how humbled they were by their Swedish audience on this trip, and how proud he is that they are showing the rest of Europe how things can be done, “And the way you treat the world outside Sweden, Europe needs to be more like Sweden!”

Although there are reports that the upper sections of the stands are empty and closed off tonight the four shows in Stockholm are reported to Pollstar as being sold out (all four), so the capacity numbers must have been reduced as well. The band have to rush to get to the next tour stop on time, in Berlin, with just one day to transfer thanks to the reschedule, and security are moving fans out of the venue quickly after the show finishes tonight.

The Innocence + Experience tour was initially announced on December 3, 2014. This show was one of the later shows announced, on December 8. Tickets went on general sale on Monday, December 15. A presale for U2.com members started on December 10. (Subscribers who joined prior to September 9, 2014 were part of the Experience group and could go first, subscribers joining after that date were part of the Innocence group.) The final two Stockholm shows were put on sale at the same time.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks