Orpheum Theatre, San Francisco, CA

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Out of Control"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Desire"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Torna a Surriento"

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
Other Music Used in Show (Non-Bono Performances)

  • "Gloria"
  • "October"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Empire State Human" - The Human League
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "La Traviata Act I: Dell'invito trascorsa e gia l'ora" - Dame Joan Sutherland, Luciano Pavarotti, Matteo Manuguerra

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by Bono:

    "Glad to See You Go" (The Ramones) / "Money Money" (from Cabaret) /

Show Details:

Bono’s solo tour is rapidly coming to an end, with two shows in California. The first, in San Francisco is being held at the Orpheum Theatre. The theatre, originally opened in 1926, and is designated as a San Francisco landmark. The theatre has a capacity of 2200 people, making it the fifth smallest venue on this tour, and the second smallest venue where the show is being hosted in North America.

Ahead of the show Bono stopped at City Lights Booksellers, and they closed the store to allow him to sign some copies of his book. He stopped and spoke with fans entering and leaving. The copies of the book that were signed have already sold out.

Tonight in San Francisco guests include Johnny Ive, formerly of Apple, who is addressed from the stage as Bono spoke about (RED). Actor Julia Roberts is also at the show as is actor / comedian Phoebe Robinson. Jason Newstead, the former bass player for Metallica, is also at the show. During both performances of “City of Blinding Lights” tonight Bono made a change to the chorus singing “City of City Lights”, a reference to the bookstore he visited earlier in the day, which is also mentioned in his memoir.

The show itself is a mix of full performances of songs, as well as shorter pieces of some songs. Bono’s band for this tour includes former U2 producer, Jacknife Lee on keyboards and percussion, Kate Ellis on cello and Gemma Doherty on harp, backing vocals and keyboards. All three performers are from Ireland. Bono and the other performers are on a bare stage, with little for props (table and chairs in one area, an arm chair and a table in another area.) The stage does have writing from Bono’s hand which can be seen at various points in the show. Accompanying Bono are images that he has created, animated behind him on two screens, including his drawings and text. The show is a mix of music and stories from his book, and features a mix of full length songs and shortened versions of songs. Others from U2’s past collaborators have been involved in the show, including Willie Williams and Gavin Friday. Joe O’Herlihy is providing sound for the tour.

Many thanks to Brad, Harry, Michael, Christian and Otto for their help with the information above.

The public onsale for tickets was October 7 at 10am local time. A special presale for U2Com subscribers was held the prior day at the same time. Ticket prices ranged from $55 to $250, and no dynamic pricing was in use for this event. No one under the age of five was allowed into this performance. Tickets were delivered digitally 72 hours prior to the event.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks