Teatro Coliseum, Madrid, Spain

Set List of Show:

Main Set List:

  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Out of Control"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Desire"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Torna a Surriento"
Instrumentals / Non-Bono Performances

  • "October"
  • "Gloria"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Empire State Human" - The Human League
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "La Traviata Act I: Dell'invito trascorsa e gia l'ora" - Dame Joan Sutherland, Luciano Pavarotti, Matteo Manuguerra

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by Bono:

    "Miracle Drug" (U2) / "Glad to See You Go" (The Ramones) / "Money Money" (from Cabaret) /

Show Details:

The Teatro Coliseum was built in the 1930s, and used as a cinema and a concert hall over the years. The building is a site of cultural interest in Spain. At a capacity of 1395 people, the venue is the second smallest on the entire tour, and only Dublin’s show was held in a smaller venue.

The show sees Bono performing songs, and acting out scenes from his book on stage, accompanied by three Irish musicians. Jacknife Lee, who has worked with U2 as a producer, joins Bono on keyboards and drums. Kate Ellis accompanies on cello and backing vocals, and Gemma Doherty is on harp, keyboards and backing vocals.

Tonight’s show is the same as the other European shows to date, and does not include an encore. The audience is into the show, and often sing along, especially at the end of “Where the Streets Have No Name” as well as the Spanish parts of “Vertigo”. Bono does speak briefly in Spanish in a few places during the show.

Spotted at the show tonight are actors Penelope Cruz and Goya Toledo, musician Ara Malikian. Howie B, who worked with the band on Pop and Original Soundtracks 1 is also present, as is longtime collaborator Simon Carmody, and Bono’s wife Ali.

This is Bono’s final announced performance on the “Stories of Surrender” tour. Additional shows have been discussed for the new year, but at this point nothing has been announced.

Tickets for the show went on sale on Friday, October 7 at 10am. A special pre-sale for U2.com members happened the day before. All tickets for the show came with a copy of Bono’s new memoir, and the copy was given out at the show was the Spanish copy of the book.

Many thanks to Pablo and Xavi for sharing information about the show this evening, and everyone who helped throughout the tour.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks