Sphere, Las Vegas, NV

Set List of Show:

  • "Zoo Station"
  • "The Fly"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "One"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses"
  • "Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the World"
  • "All I Want is You"
  • "Desire"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Love Rescue Me"
  • "Acrobat"
  • "So Cruel"
  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "Love is Blindness"

  • "Elevation"
  • "Atomic City"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Beautiful Day"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Lemon" (Remix) - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Glorify" - U2 featuring Brittany Howard
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "What A Wonderful World" - Louis Armstrong

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Love Me Tender" (Elvis Presley) / "Walk On the Wild Side" (Lou Reed) / "Don't Look Back in Anger" (Oasis) / "Viva Las Vegas" (Elvis Presley) / "My Way" (Frank Sinatra) / "Moment of Surrender" (U2) / "What A Wonderful World" (Louis Armstrong) / "Glorify" (U2 featuring Brittany Howard) /

Show Details:

Tonight is the band’s seventh night at the Las Vegas Sphere, where they are doing 25 shows between now and the end of the year. U2 are the first band to perform in this new venue. The full listing of shows can be found in our show archive. U2 are performing these shows without founding member Larry Mullen Junior, due to back surgery, and the following recovery. A Dutch drummer, Bram van den Berg replaces Mullen at these shows in Las Vegas.

Tonight the band returns to the Rattle and Hum version of the show, which they have done for the majority of shows so far – five out of the seven shows. This includes four songs from that album in the middle section, “All I Want is You”, “Desire”, “Angel of Harlem”, and “Love Rescue Me”. The band include snippets of “Walk on the Wild Side” during “All I Want is You” and “Don’t Look Back in Anger” during “Angel of Harlem”. “Love Me Tender” fills in the segue between “One” and “Until the End of the World” and “Viva Las Vegas” fills in the ending of “Love is Blindness”. “My Way” is used at the end of “Elevation”. “Moment of Surrender” is used in the lead in to “Where the Streets Have No Name”. “Beautiful Day” ends with a snippet of “What a Wonderful World”. A set list change was made shortly before the start of the show, and Dallas was seen replacing set lists on stage just prior to showtime. Like the previous night, Bono leaves the stage tonight singing along to “Glorify”, the song with a female vocalist heard on the PA after “Beautiful Day” is finished.

Tonight “So Cruel” and “Acrobat” have swapped places in the set list. Like the previous night, Bono doesn’t talk about the conflicts going on in the world, but does take a minute to ask the crowd to think about what each member of the crowd wants to think about. The balloon was present tonight, tied to a camera on The Edge’s side of the stage, but like the previous two shows, no one was brought out of the audience for that portion of the show. Bram gives some Dutch advice when asked by Bono, “never go to bed!” Throughout the show fans were commenting on how much the band appear to be enjoying this show, and indeed that has been a comment repeated for all of these shows.

The show continues to develop. More graphics of the band are present on screen during the Songs of Surrender portion of the show where they do the four songs from Rattle and Hum. The graphics for “Ultra Violet” continue to be filled in as well.

U2 filmed a short promo while taking the stage for the encore, which was used to promote the Rugby World Cup, Ireland vs New Zealand game. They are filmed walking out onto the stage at Sphere and the start of “Elevation”.

Noel Gallagher appears to be at the show tonight, as is Ashley Judd. Bono’s wife and daughter, Ali and Eve Hewson are also both at the show. We will have additional updates following the show.

The show started at 8:30pm this evening.

Many thanks to Mark, Matkin, Tim and Kelly for the set list updates and other information tonight.

Initially only the first five shows in Las Vegas were announced. An additional seven shows were quickly added on April 25. (October 11, 13, 14, 18, 20, 21, and 25 were the newly announced shows.) The opportunity to apply for pre-sale tickets opened immediately on April 24, with the initial show announcement. These new shows were part of the same pre-sale, and those who had already applied were given a chance to change to these new dates if desired. Ticket face value ranged from $140.13 – $501.35 at four different price points for seats. A General Admission floor was priced at $267.88, and at each show there was be a (RED) Zone riser at the back of the GA area which will hold 50 people, priced at $600.00. When the ticket sale for verified fans opened on Thursday April 27, Platinum pricing was in effect for the seats in the venue, with most tickets being priced well beyond these original prices. The general on sale, on Friday April 28 was announced to be cancelled by Ticketmaster due to demand, but later the verified fan restrictions were lifted at that time anyway.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks