Sphere, Las Vegas, NV

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Zoo Station"
  • "The Fly"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "One"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses"
  • "Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the World"
  • "Happy Birthday"
  • "All I Want is You"
  • "Desire"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Love Rescue Me"
  • "Acrobat"
  • "So Cruel"
  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "Love is Blindness"

  • "Elevation"
  • "Atomic City"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Beautiful Day"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Lemon" (Remix) - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Glorify" - U2 featuring Brittany Howard
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "What A Wonderful World" - Louis Armstrong

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Love Me Tender" (Elvis Presley) / "Walk On the Wild Side" (Lou Reed) / "Suspicious Minds" (Elvis Presley) / "Viva Las Vegas" (Elvis Presley) / "My Way" (Frank Sinatra) / "Moment of Surrender" (U2) / "What A Wonderful World" (Louis Armstrong) / "Glorify" (U2 featuring Brittany Howard) /

Show Details:

Tonight is the band’s ninth night at the Las Vegas Sphere, where they are doing 25 shows between now and the end of the year. U2 are the first band to perform in this new venue. The full listing of shows can be found in our show archive. U2 are performing these shows without founding member Larry Mullen Junior, due to back surgery, and the following recovery. A Dutch drummer, Bram van den Berg replaces Mullen at these shows in Las Vegas.

Tonight the band returns to the Rattle and Hum play list that has been performed a number of times since the start of the Las Vegas shows. “All I Want is You”, “Desire”, “Angel of Harlem” and “Love Rescue Me” are all performed. (“Angel of Harlem” had not been performed at the previous show, but otherwise the set list was much the same as the previous show.)

Tonight the balloon is back, and Bono does pull someone from the crowd. “Mrs. The Edge”, Morleigh Steinberg Evans is brought onto stage in her bare feet. Bono introduces her to the crowd, and asks if he can sing for her. “I dreamed I saw Morleigh, with a supermarket trolley, trying to throw your arms around The Edge. An open topped Beetle, through the eye of the needle, trying to throw yourself…ah…rhymes with The Edge.” Bono then turns the song over to The Edge to sing to her. Bono jokes “Morleigh has the worst job on this tour, because she has to tell me what to do, and I’m not very good at being told what to do”. And then he follows her instructions on how to walk someone around the stage, before Morleigh gets into the swing as the song continues. After the song, Bono sings happy birthday for Morleigh as well. Before leaving the stage, Morleigh shares a kiss with her husband, The Edge.

Introducing Bram tonight Bono shared a little story, “Let me introduce you to a man who began his life as a sort of student of Larry Mullen Junior on the album Pop in 1998. When we started rehearsing in Dublin for this sphere show, I left a few days to the real musicians to get to know each other, and do what real musicians do, which is ignore singers. I came into this rehearsal room, with Edge and Adam, and was talking to them ‘How’s it going? How’s it all working out?’ And in walked this Dutchman. I looked at him and and thought ‘well you’re too tall for a start…too good looking.’ He just looked at me, and i looked at him, and he looked at me and said ‘Oh! So there is a fourth member of U2!’ Cheeky fucker!” Instead of speaking, Bram starts to play “Desire”.

An LED panel behind the stage on Edge’s side behind the stage is out throughout the show.

Many of the usual snippets are in place tonight. “Love Me Tender” fills in the segue between “One” and “Until the End of the World”. “Walk on the Wild Side” appears at the end of “All I Want is You” and “Suspicious Minds” finishes off “Angel of Harlem”. “Viva Las Vegas” makes an appearance at the end of “Love is Blindness”. “My Way” finishes off “Elevation”, “Moment of Surrender” is present at the start of “Where the Streets Have No Name”. “Beautiful Day” ends with a snippet of “What A Wonderful World”, and before U2 leave the stage, Bono starts to sing along with the first song played on the PA after the U2 show, “Glorify”, first without his mic, and then singing into the mic along with the female vocalist on the song on the PA.

Many thanks to Jenna, Stefanie and Roars for information about this evening’s show.

Initially only the first five shows in Las Vegas were announced. An additional seven shows were quickly added on April 25. (October 11, 13, 14, 18, 20, 21, and 25 were the newly announced shows.) The opportunity to apply for pre-sale tickets opened immediately on April 24, with the initial show announcement. These new shows were part of the same pre-sale, and those who had already applied were given a chance to change to these new dates if desired. Ticket face value ranged from $140.13 – $501.35 at four different price points for seats. A General Admission floor was priced at $267.88, and at each show there was be a (RED) Zone riser at the back of the GA area which will hold 50 people, priced at $600.00. When the ticket sale for verified fans opened on Thursday April 27, Platinum pricing was in effect for the seats in the venue, with most tickets being priced well beyond these original prices. The general on sale, on Friday April 28 was announced to be cancelled by Ticketmaster due to demand, but later the verified fan restrictions were lifted at that time anyway.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks