Sphere, Las Vegas, NV

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Zoo Station"
  • "The Fly"
  • "Even Better Than the Real Thing"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "One"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses"
  • "Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the World"
  • "All I Want is You"
  • "Desire"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Love Rescue Me"
  • "Acrobat"
  • "So Cruel"
  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "Love is Blindness"

  • "Elevation"
  • "Atomic City"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Beautiful Day"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Lemon" (Remix) - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Glorify" - U2 featuring Brittany Howard
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "What A Wonderful World" - Louis Armstrong

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Drive My Car" (The Beatles) / "Love Me Tender" (Elvis Presley) / "Paint it Black" (Rolling Stones) / "Landlady" (U2) / "Sacrifice" (Elton John) / "Rocket Man" (Elton John) / "Cold Heart" (Dua Lipa ft Elton John) / "Like a Rolling Stone" (Bob Dylan) / "Viva Las Vegas" (Elvis Presley) / "My Way" (Frank Sinatra) / "Moment of Surrender" (U2) / "Gloria" (U2) / "Blackbird" (The Beatles) / "Glorify" (U2 featuring Brittany Howard) /

Show Details:

U2 kick off the 20th show of 40 at Las Vegas Sphere, with an additional four shows, now announced to be the final shows, announced this week. The full listing of shows can be found in our U2 show archive. U2 are performing these shows without founding member, Larry Mullen Junior, who is missing due to surgery to repair damage suffered from years of drumming. A Dutch drummer, Bram van den Berg replaces Mullen at these shows in Las Vegas.

“Tryin’ to Throw Your Arms Around the World” opens with Bono sharing a story. “Oh. The simple pleasures. A walk in the park. A walk down the street. Bringing a balloon home to your missus after a big night out” and then breaks into a line from “Landlady”. “Landlady takes you up in to the air” before starting the song. Later he changes the song to be “I dreamed I saw Ali, with a supermarket trolley, trying to throw her arms around our girls.” A door forms behind the stage, and Bono rings the doorbell twice, getting no answer, before deciding to leave the balloon for Ali.

Ahead of “All I Want is You” Bono stops to thank the MSG team, telling a story about the builders, and engineers of Sphere and a trip in May to the Bahama Breeze with the crew behind the building. He does share, “I want to thank all our people. We never get to say thank you because it looks like one of those speeches that you see when everyone reads out a list, and everyone goes hurry the fuck up. These are very important people to us, and very clever people!” During “All I Want is You” Bono takes a minute to mention the piano coming from “Terryworld”. At the end of the song he goes into a couple of Elton John songs, singing lyrics from both “Sacrifice” and “Rocket Man” – Elton John himself has recently combined these songs into “Cold Heart”, which he released with Dua Lipa, who is at the show tonight. We have listed all three titles in our list above.

During “Desire” Bono introduces the band, sharing bass players often don’t get noticed, but “We notice you!” and that he’s happy everyday to wake up and realize he’s in a band with Adam Clayton. The Edge is described as the musical director, and Bono asks, “What do you do? Apart from everything! Even you can’t explain it!” Bram van den Berg is introduced and Bono shares, “His name is already legend around here with the women and men.” Bono introduces himself as “one of the humblest, kindest, most misunderstood persons I know. I’d say taken for granted, but he’s ready to get over it tonight, the only B on the A-Team, my name is Bono.”

Ahead of “Love Rescue Me” Bono reflects on the shootings today at UNLV. Later during “Beautiful Day” Bono stops to mention the endangered species above him. “All God’s creatures, great and small, all creatures of Nevada, all endangered tonight. We’re all in danger tonight. So we fill up our hearts for the strength of knowing we are with each other, that we belong to each other, and we look after each other. Sing us home, one…more…time…”

A piece of The Beatles’ “Drive My Car” is included ahead of the start of “The Fly”, done after Bono introduced Pauli the PSM, the opening DJ, who is using the song in his opening set. A lengthy version of “Love Me Tender” comes in at the end of “One”. “Paint it Black” is back for “Until the End of the World” as is a bit of Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s “Two Tribes” at the end of the song. “Angel of Harlem” includes some of Dylan’s “Like a Rolling Stone” including Bono getting the crowd to sing along. “Love is Blindness” ends with “Viva Las Vegas” and “Elevation” ends with “My Way” tonight. “Moment of Surrender” leads into “Where the Streets Have No Name” tonight. “Beautiful Day” includes a bit of U2’s own “Gloria” and ends with The Beatles’ “Blackbird”. As the song “Glorify” comes up on the PA, Bono sings along.

A couple of notes about the show:

  • U2 took the stage tonight at 8:37pm.
  • Bram is wearing the black Achtung Baby T-shirt with three symbols down the front tonight.
  • With the end of the show tonight, the band have now completed the first half of the residency at Sphere.
  • A couple of new posters were available at the show tonight. We will be adding these into our merchandise listings shortly.
  • Actor Sean Hayes and composer Scott Icenogle were at the show this evening.

Initially five shows in Las Vegas were announced, quickly followed by seven more, and then five more taking us to the end of November. On May 12, the final shows for December were added, with all eight shows being available via a U2.com presale offer, where you could apply for the shows you were interested in. The offer ended on May 15. Face value on tickets range from $140.13 – $501.35 at four different price points for seats for face values. A General Admission floor will be priced at $267.88, and at each show there was be a (RED) Zone riser at the back of the GA area which held 50 people, priced at $600.00. Although these prices listed were face values, tickets in seated areas were subject to Platinum pricing in the general sale.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks